Christmas Week Day 2: Sorrel!

December 19, 2016

Living in the Pacific Northwest state of Oregon in the US of A means many things. One of those things means: missing out on some delicious sorrel. Missing out? We’ll see about that!

I went on an internet hunt to fix this and fix I found.

What is sorrel?

maxresdefaultSorrel is a popular Caribbean drink associated with the Christmas season, mainly because this is when it blossoms. The juice is essentially a brew from the red sepals of the Roselle plant, Hibiscus sabdariffa, which is commonly called sorrel in the Caribbean.

Essentially one should not have a Christmas without some sorrel to enjoy.

The recipe for the drink itself is quite simple. All I needed was the ever important sorrel. Since I can’t get it fresh, I searched the webs for a source of dried sorrel. Amazon did not fail to provide such a source.

I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve never made sorrel myself when I was home and I’ve only done it once since moving away. I’m no master of sorrel-making but here’s how I made mine:

2 oz dried sorrelimg_5353
1 cinnamon stick
3 whole cloves
1 small piece orange peel
1.5 cups brown sugar (or adjust to sweetness preference)

6 cups water

Boil all ingredients together in a pot for 30 mins. Let sit for a few hours (preferably overnight). Strain. Enjoy. Best kept in a glass container as sorrel can stain.

Add some rum for those hard adulting days…or just because. 😉

I don’t like my sorrel too sweet or too tart. Of course, everyone tends to like their sorrel differently depending on taste preferences.

P.S. It was yum. Christmas in a cup.

Leave a Reply

