Finding Courage

14702415_10154666288393628_5888291037018188074_n

I recently started reading Brene Brown’s “Daring Greatly”. Definitely a worthwhile read for everyone.

I am, by no means, a stranger to fear and insecurities.

There was once a time in my life when I chose to desensitise myself to my inner most feelings. In doing so, I assured myself that I would never step on toes, never clash with others, never get hurt. But I also ensured that I would not gain nor lose (e.g. meaningful relationships). It was a limbo of sorts. I would never truly live the way I should: in the fullness of expression of who I am, sharing it with the world and creating appropriate boundaries in doing so.

There’s just one problem in living that way. Vulnerability.

There is vulnerability in owning my feelings.

There is vulnerability in sharing my feelings with others.

There is vulnerability in loving and being loved in return.

There is vulnerability in accepting others into my personal bubble, my space, my life.

There is vulnerability in openness, in expression.

There is vulnerability in freedom.

Vulnerability is hard. It’s scary. Really scary. Overwhelming, even.

How do I step up? How do I face it? How do I find the courage to allow myself to be vulnerable, own it, and live fully through it? I don’t have the answers but I’m certainly doing what I can to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

