Zumba Virgin

Fifteen days ago, I joined a gym. I’ve gained some weight over the past year and gained some fatty deposits I’m not too happy to look at anymore. Goal: regain the fitness and physique I once had…and maintain it.

The thing about getting fit is that I’m all in or I fall off completely. I discovered this a few years ago…if I waiver for too long, it somehow becomes far easier to convince myself that I don’t need exercise. Those ugly little lies. Before I know it, two years pass and I’m looking for something to get me motivated again.

Step 1: Start working out. Just. Start. done

Step 2: Don’t stop. pending

The gym I joined offers a variety of classes. So, naturally, after 2 weeks of workout almost daily I decided to challenge myself to a class. It’s easier to fall into something I already know: Zumba.

ZumbaPeople

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’ve never done a Zumba class in my life. I did have fun with the Zumba Fitness DVDs though, once upon a time. So I figure, why not? Needless to say, I had a BLAST! It’s unbelievable how quickly that hour of twisting, turning and jumping passed right on by. I’m only sorry I didn’t attend sooner!

As I introduced myself after the class tonight, my Zumba instructor said to me, “Oh! So you’re technically a Zumba virgin!” Haha.

There are two rules in her class:

  1. Smile
  2. Don’t forget to smile.

“I hope you to see you again!” I absolutely intend to, before I move away, again.

Leave a Reply

