Rush

rushing

I’ve been in the midst of a great big decision. Do I apply for ND school this year as planned? Or should I consider gaining more conventional experience for a better approach to integrative medicine later on? It’s a difficult decision because for about 4 years I’ve been excited to apply for ND school. So far, every year something out of my control comes along that pushes it another year away. Yet, these past years I’ve just been dying to just hop right into it and continue on with my life.

Only recently has it occurred to me that maybe, just maybe, it would be more beneficial to the career I want to have more allopathic experience under my belt. Internship isn’t nearly enough…it doesn’t even scratch the surface at all. My Mom told me, “Amy, you’re young. You don’t need to rush into naturopathic medicine.” The more I think about it, the more I think it’s true. Why rush into it? Integrative medicine is what I want to do at the end of the day but, rather than rush into the other half without properly soaking in this half of medicine, why not take my time and do what’s likely better in the long run for the career I want?

Yup.

When you stop rushing into things, you realise there’s a lot more that life has to offer. Slow down. Take your time. Savour the experiences in the present.

4 thoughts on “Rush

  1. Dad says:

    Amy, I think you have reasoned our out your decision well and have decided beneficially with the consideration of the future. Rushing is never God’s way. If only we can learn this very valuable lesson at younger ages as you have, their would be fewer errors made.God’s way is NEVER in a rush. Trust your judgement Amy and believe in yourself. You are smart, creative, talented, focused, self-thinking/examining with a sound mind and heart. You have a great future and wonderfully ordained destiny ahead. You possess all that it required to be all that God has created you to become. You are always in my prayers. Stay strong, keep smiling and know that I am here fore you always. – Dad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

