Sixteen And Beyond

past-present-future-sign1When I was 16, I didn’t really know anything. At that point in my life, I was graduating from secondary school and entering community college. Then, all I knew was that I wanted to be a doctor so I studied the sciences. At 16, my brain had not fathomed much further than what was to be in the recent future. I hadn’t even fully thought out university. Back then, I was anything but the planner I am today. I had no goals…all I decided on was my career choice.

Now, almost 8 years later, I graduated medical school and became a doctor. I’m a planner. I’m career oriented. I have goals, aspirations and dreams. I don’t know what’ll happen in the next 5 years but I could easily tell you what I’m hoping to achieve by the age of 30.

Personally, I’m a completely different person from the girl who graduated from secondary school almost 8 years ago. Often, I reflect on the person I once was and the person I am today and I’m happy. A great part of life is in self-development. Becoming a better person, not just for those around me but for myself; learning to love myself and learning to love others; learning to live happy and inspired.

At 16, very few people really know what they expect of themselves over the period of 5 or 10 years. Though I didn’t expect much of myself, I’m extremely satisfied with who I am and how much I’ve accomplished today.

When you were 16, what did you think your life would be like?

Leave a Reply

