Go With The Flow

I was having a discussion last night with my Mom about my future…that ultimate life plan for success and such. It’s not a new conversation, everyone’s pretty much aware of what I have planned for myself in life. I know what I want to do and the steps I need to get there. But there are times when things don’t quite work out to your mapped out timelines.

If there’s nothing – absolutely nothing – else I’ve learnt in the past 6 months, it’s that things happen in their own time. For me, these have been nothing but delays in my timeline for life. It’s not a healthy view. Why? Because it leaves me frustrated and stressed. I’m a planner and when things don’t go according to plan, I find myself trying to reroute things in my plan so things get back on track.

I think it’s time to let myself off the hook.

I didn’t pass my exams as I’d hoped the first time around…didn’t graduate when I hoped. I didn’t start work when I’d hoped. Things definitely haven’t been going as planned.

Everything happens in its own time. And whatever happens – whenever it happens – happens for the best.

Happiness-Plenty-Of-People-Miss-Their-Share-Of-Happiness-Quote-PQ-0031-2012-R

So, this year I’m looking to relax on the planning. Don’t get me wrong. Planning is something I think is vital to creating the life you want. It gives you direction. Something to look forward to, something to work towards. Thinking about the future has been something I’ve been doing constantly for a number of years and it’s left me living so much in an envisioned future that I forget to live in the present. Instead of living in an envisioned future, it’s time to bring myself back to the now and work towards it wholeheartedly.

Time to go with the flow that life sets before me and enjoy my time in the present.

Leave a Reply

