Things To Be Thankful For

Thanksgiving. A holiday that’s been advertising on my television for weeks on end. I live in Barbados so it’s one that we don’t celebrate here. (Barbados’ Independence Day is in 2 days though!) People take the time to make the things they’re thankful known on a day like this, though I’m sure we all know we should be giving thanks for our blessings every day. So, in the spirit of giving thanks, here are the a few things I’m thankful for:

  • wake-up-stretching-410x290Waking up this morning

I’m alive and blessed to see another day. A new day to work towards my dreams.

  • A bed to wake up in

Because not everyone has one.

  • A roof over my head and place to call home

Because some people sleep in beds under roofs but have no place to call home. Some people are cold and living on the streets with neither bed nor shelter. 

  • Food in the kitchen

There are people who struggle to find food. There are people who can’t afford it. 

  • Clean running water & electricity

Some people have access to only dirty contaminated water. Some people have no water at all. And for many, electricity is a luxury.

  • BIG-TOMS-logo1Clothes on my back and shoes on my feet

I recently ordered a pair of shoes from TOMS. I love their One for One mission: for each pair you purchase, TOMS gives a new pair to a child in need.

  • My senses

I can see the world for all its beauties and all its tragedies. I can hear the sounds of nature, converse with verbally, listen to beautiful music. 

  • My health

Constitutionally, I may not have the strongest body. As such, I’m always grateful for my good health. If you know me, I like to eat healthy. There are some people who can eat unhealthy and not get sick too frequently. I’m not like that.

  • My family & friends

These are the people who helped shape me into who I am today. Need I say more?

  • My faith

This is one of the things I am most thankful for. Without God in my life, I’d have no direction. And without Him, I could be someone else entirely.

  • My dreams

I’m blessed with a mind and heart that dream huge. My dreams motivate me. They give me purpose. It’s like they breathe life into my very being.

  • educationThe opportunity for education

In Barbados, we’re blessed with the option of having free primary and secondary education. I was even more blessed to have had my entire medical tuition sponsored by the government. 

  • The ability to help others

With all my blessings, I’m in a position to help others. To volunteer and give and offer my services to others. And I chose the medical profession for the same reason.

  • Being able to travel

I absolutely love travelling. With family all over the world, I’ve been blessed to be able to visit them all.

1

  • Passion

For life. For work. For others. I can only be passionate about what I love and I absolutely love what I have the ability to do.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

