Useful Apps For Med School

Exams are on the verge and I thought I’d share some apps (in no particular order) I found handy during the course of my clinical years of medical school. In case you were wondering, they’re all free apps.

Medscape

76A139VA34I3I would have to say that Medscape is one of those absolute must-have medical applications to have on the go. It’s got a superb clinical reference section that has all the information neatly classified as you would find on e-Medicine on the web. There’s also drug information and clinical calculators (I actually haven’t used the calculator much on the Medscape app before) along with clinical news updates.

iOSAndroid

Epocrates

27520_28457483213_5521_nI’ve used Epocrates for solely drug-related information. Find the information you need about a particular drug, generic or brand name. It also comes with a drug-drug interaction section, pill identification, as well as a medical calculator section.

iOSAndroid

Skyscape

a1aWNvbnMvNC9kYTE1Y2NmZDU2ZWRhZGI2YTQ1ZDExNThhYjU1NjM5MA==

I’ve had classmates that have also made use of Skyscape. I never downloaded it myself but I’ve used it once or twice on a friend’s tablet in times of need. It’s quite similar to Medscape with access to drug information, some reference information on a number of topics in an outline format, clinical news updates and a medical calculator.

– iOS – Android – Blackberry –

MedCalc

imagesIf you don’t have any of the apps above or just wanted quicker one tap access to a clinical calculator, MedCalc may be the app for you!

iOS

Eponyms (for students)

779-1-eponymsSo many pesky eponyms in medicine! Lots of diseases and conditions have the names of their discoverers (or just someone who was involved with the disease at some point in it’s history) attached to them. I mean, what’s an Eisenmenger syndrome anyway?

iOSAndroid

Prognosis: Your Diagnosis

175Prognosis is a fun little game app but don’t be fooled because I called it a game. Prognosis Your Diagnosis is an app which provides a number of cases separated into Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Surgery. Cases are updated regularly and provide you with a short pertinent history and significant examination findings. Following this you make a decision of what investigations (options are provided) you would do (results are given for each option you choose). You are then to make a selection of the correct management for the patient in the case. Once you tap Finish, you’ll be informed of how well you performed and an explanation for the case (breakdown of the case, the investigations, the management as well as information about the disease of the case) is provided.

Prognosis also available in Cardiology, Diabetes, Respiratory for those who want more specialized cases.

iOSAndroid

What do you use on your handheld piece of technology to survive medical school? Leave a comment below to add to the list!

3 thoughts on “Useful Apps For Med School

  1. Pingback: URL
  2. Korie-Ann says:

    Hi Aimz. Great list, I’ve used all these myself except for the last one which you taught me. Oh only if my smartphone were working so I can try it out….. *sigh*

    Anyway, another one I had on my phone was NICE Guidelines: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=uk.org.openhealthcare
    (a .pdf reader will be needed to read the documents).

    Medical Dictionary: http://www.androiddrawer.com/7743/download-medical-dictionary-1-71-app-apk/#.UnqWt4vD_IU
    (My apologies for the non-‘Play-Store’ link but Google no longer keeps it in stock)

    And Micromedex Drug Information: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.thomson.druginfo

    My Medscape was glitching unfortunately so I had to seek alternative apps (hence the last two). The Skyscape as you rightly said was quite similar but from what I remember, the empty app was free but you had to pay for the content or something or the other. I just remember feeling deceived, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

