Solitude

b565366663b93dde2f12d429664e49f1

How does one begin to connect with oneself?

I’ve always told others that they will find great difficulty in finding who they are and connecting with themselves when they spend their days working on connecting with another. The quiet one gains in solitude beckons the soul to step forward. It is pushed back in the hectic drama of stressful relationships. Sometimes it’s necessary to let go of the relationships that are causing you more personal harm than good.

I’ve spent a number of years avoiding romantic relationships because it’s so easy to get caught up and forget myself! In those years, I recovered from heart break and began a journey of self-discovery and self-improvement. I’m a much different person than I was 5 years ago. It’s not often an 18-year-old girl will opt to avoid being romantically involved with others to focus on herself. But I’m young, I have no need to rush such things in life.

In my opinion, there’s nothing more important than discovering who you are and finding the happiness you deserve.

solitude

4 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. Mario (Med Bro) says:

    I’ve grown up embracing an attitude of solitude. Since starting university, I realised that I am now in constant contact with persons and i seem to share my issues with friends a little too quickly. I used to keep things to myself and deal with them. I don’t like that i have become so emotionally dependent now. It wasn’t the case before. :(. Ahhh well

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Sharing your thoughts or issues with friends isn’t a bad thing. In fact, it’s really not good to keep all the issues to yourself. You should have someone that you can feel free to talk to…you would be releasing the negativity from within you by sharing it but that doesn’t mean that you become emotionally dependent on them. Solitude isn’t about keeping it all to yourself…it’s more of a journey to understanding yourself as an individual and discovering what you have to offer others.

      Like

    • Amy says:

      Hmmm. It’s true. It can be difficult learning to be around others as well. It’s just important to remember that everyone has their flaws and some personalities are easier to accept than others. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

