Saying Bon Voyage

“I can’t wait to get away from home!”

I probably can’t count how many times I’ve said this over the years. I once hoped to study allopathic medicine overseas but when the full medical school programme became available in Barbados, I applied and…somehow, didn’t apply elsewhere. I opted to stay home for at least another 5 years.

In the meantime, I’ve watched friends fly away to universities for their degrees and have had to say my share of “Farewell!” “Safe trip!” “Skype me!” It’s always sad. And I’m always envious.

Yesterday, I said it once more. Not to a friend off to do a masters degree…but a friend off to do her 12-month internship on another island. My travel buddy to the Bahamas. My partner in crime in medical school.

Since I had the free time and I’ve found interest in getting creative and making cards for people, I decided to make one for her.

collage

The hardest parts! Butterflies, fortune cookie and a tree: drawn and coloured by me.

These took the majority of my card-making time. I haven’t gotten this artsy in a long time so it took a little while to figure out how to draw and colour them in.

photo 4-1

Glue in a cute fortune for luck. Throw some cover stock together and the front of the card was born. And some marker to paper as well, so things looked less plain.

The inside of the card was the real treat though. I decided to make something like a tree of memories.

photo 3-1

So, to my partner in crime, the Yin and Yang days are forever ours. 🙂 Toodles! *waves hanky* See you back next year!

Leave a Reply

