A Moment Away

IMG_2045-e

On the bus from Hong Kong to Shenzhen

The longer I wait to write about my trip to Hong Kong, the more it all blurs into what really feels like just a moment away from home. About three weeks ago, I boarded a plane that would not return me to Barbados for 8 days. I was in for 3.5 days of travel and 4.5 days of land loving on the Asian continent. Of the 4.5 days, 2.5 were spent in Hong Kong and 2 were spend in Shenzhen.

From Barbados, it’s two flights to Hong Kong. We often take the New York to Hong Kong route, but the London to Hong Kong route is also an option. A 4 hour flight to New York followed by a 15 hour flight to Hong Kong can really take quite a toll on the body, especially if you don’t sleep. Which…admittedly, I did not. Ha.

So, you must be wondering: why, oh why, would you fly all that way for such a short stay, Amy?

That’s a good question! Not a moment goes by when I just wish my trip had gone on for much longer. But when we booked the tickets, we did so with the consideration of my having to start work in July (which, is now no longer happening) and a short trip had to be scheduled. My Mom and I went for, what was simply, a family reunion. My grandmother met my 8 month old (at the time) cousin for the first time. Once my Mom and I joined up, all of her children and grandchildren were gathered together.

Since we’re all so distanced by the oceans, it was one of those rare opportunities for us all to gather together. So we did. Stressful as it was, it was totally worth it.

Next time, I’ll try to stick around a little longer.

On the bridge to Shenzhen Bay. These all serve one purpose! Collection of sea animals for consumption.

On the bridge to Shenzhen Bay.
These all serve one purpose! Collection of sea animals for consumption.

My view from home in Shenzhen.

My view from home in Shenzhen.

A little fish pond at a restaurant in Shenzhen

A little fish pond at a restaurant in Shenzhen

Through Chinese customs and immigration and I'm back in Hong Kong.

Through Chinese customs and immigration and I’m back in Hong Kong.

Displayed in Hong Kong International Airport

Displayed in Hong Kong International Airport

On the runway for take-off. My final farewell on the ground of Hong Kong.

On the runway for take-off. My final farewell on the ground of Hong Kong.

Reasons I love Hong Kong: lots of green despite lots of concrete!

Reasons I love Hong Kong: lots of green despite lots of concrete!

In case you were wondering, the short trip to Shenzhen was to visit my grandfather’s grave. It’s such a peaceful place with this spectacular view.

IMG_2138-e

Leave a Reply

