Thank You

My friends are all medical school graduates, ready to embark on their 12-month internships! I am so incredibly happy and excited for them, you don’t even know!

It was recently pointed out to me that I’m so absolutely positive about my situation, no one would believe that I’d have to repeat an exam. I remember in my pre-examination period, I feared having to fail any one of the 3 components of my final exams. It was the last thing, as one would imagine, that I wanted! Yet, it did happen and it was something I had to come to terms with. Surprisingly, that didn’t take long. My friend told me that if she were in my position, even now, weeks later, she’d still be feeling extremely down about it. And she has no idea how I can be so positive about it so quickly. It’s a bit mind-boggling, apparently. Haha. But I would never have been able to make my post about Setbacks if I couldn’t take the reins on the matter, take charge and move forward.

Yes, I’d be lying if I said that I’m perfectly fine not being among the masses of interns…flocking to the tertiary care institutions and sharing the stresses and struggles for a job. The fact is, I’m not…yet. Six months down the road, I will most happily join them in the charms and loves and hates of the working junior doctor life but until then I’ll be working hard to make sure I get there!

While my own (according to my friend, never ending) flow of positivity has been what carries me forward, I can honestly say that it has been made a million times easier by all the love and encouragement I received in response to that post. So, to all you dear dear people who have said such kind things that have warmed and settled my heart and mind, I can only say two words:

thank you

And I can only hope that those two words are enough to harness the gratitude I feel.

Leave a Reply

