Rewind: Shanghai 2010

The flags of the participating countries of the Shanghai World Expo. China’s pavilion stands tall and proud in the background.

Two and a half years ago, I took a 5-day trip to Shanghai to go to the World Expo. Upon my return, I said I’d share the experiences once I’d recovered from my jetlag. I never did. If I remember correctly, I wanted to vlog about my time there since I have so much video footage. That, too, never happened.

Two and a half years later, I’m reminiscing and it came to me that I never did what I meant to.

If you don’t know, the event was a massive expo, the largest of the World Expos spanning 5.28 square kilometres. Whoa. It ran from May 1 to October 31 2010, with over 73 million visitors for the 250 countries and international organisations that participated. It was quite an impressive thing to have been there to see the people, the creativity and products of what each country or organisation had to offer. I visited mainly country pavilions and, even then, I couldn’t visit all. It was a massive site to cover and a number of lines to stand in.

My Mom and I planned the trip to Shanghai with Cathay Pacific and arranged for a private tour guide for a few days. In all honestly, it wasn’t very enjoyable since we weren’t taken to many touristy places. In fact, we were mostly taken to places that looked nice but wanted a good sale. Had it not been for my friend who was a volunteer for Barbados, my trip would’ve been much less enjoyable than it really was. Thanks to him, we had a pretty darn good time.

Without further ado, here are some of my favourite photos from the 2010 Shanghai World Expo! Of course, I did a few other things with – and without – the tour guide.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Rewind: Shanghai 2010

Leave a Reply

