On The Other Side

This morning I had all 4 of my wisdom teeth extracted under general anaesthesia. 

Today, I got to be on the other side of the surgery situation. I was the patient this time.

Being a medical student, and one who likes the Anaesthesia specialty, I was quite nervous to go into surgery…knowing all the steps that have to be taken to put someone under general anaesthesia. Thankfully, I don’t remember much. I had the agents injected and I started feeling woozy…and I was out before I knew it. I don’t remember much from when I was being extubated…actually I remember nothing at all…my first very vague memory was when I was in the Recovery Room struggling to be conscious but failing to do so.

After a few hours of bed rest in hospital, I was discharged to my bed at home but I’m not as drowsy as before. So I’m quickly sharing my experience this morning with you.

It’s nice to be on the other end of the experience. One never does appreciate the patient’s side of things until you’ve experienced it yourself. Today, I got that.

One thought on “On The Other Side

Leave a Reply

