Time Travel

“If your 8-year-old self met you, would she be proud?”

This was a question tweeted to me by a friend of mine. It’s one of those questions that your mind (or just mine) likes to run with. The idea of time travel has always fascinated me, for some reason. There’s no tangible reason that I can think of…I haven’t any regrets or wishes to change things…I’m just highly interested in the idea and possibilities of it.

Honestly, if I could go back in the past, I wouldn’t change a thing. I’m much curious about the future but knowing the future is a dangerous thing. The decisions I’d make in the present would be biased towards the future I think I would obtain which could in turn just change the entire possibility I would’ve seen. In fact, the future is such a fickle thing because it’s based on the decisions I make…would that not mean that there isn’t necessarily one future but many possibilities? Or is there a fixed future (which would lend to the idea that my decisions are really not decisions at all, but an illusion that I have a choice)? Maybe there’s an inevitable result in the future but the timeline itself isn’t set in stone?The past has already happened and can’t be undone (or shouldn’t be) so I don’t think about it much when I let my mind run on the topic of time travel.

One of my favourite anime movies of all time is The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. I first saw it in 2010 and made a little blog post about it then. And along the lines of time travel and possible futures, comes the idea of alternate universes. Something I’ve pondered before in 2009 when I became really interested in Fringe and also watched an anime called Noein.

Of course, all of it may be unreal and impossible. Like I said, my mind is rather entertained with the idea of it all.

In response to the initial question:

“If my 8-year-old self met me now, she’d be proud, indeed.”

When I was about 7 or 8, I wanted to be a doctor…and, as I’m almost there, I think 8-year-old Amy would be happy at how life is currently progressing. Of course, there are other factors that I think I’d be proud of as well. But I remember always thinking about what I wanted to be when I grew up…

2 thoughts on “Time Travel

  1. gniksucram says:

    Did you watch the Stephen Hawkins documentary about time travel and black holes, etc? I know quite a few people who wanted to be doctors when they were 8 but you’re one of the few who kept the dream. It’s interesting how ‘regrets’ are confused with ‘mistakes’…have you been looking at the stars lately? (Yes I know I just said 4 random things lol)

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Lol nope, I didn’t watch that documentary…I’m interested now though, what’s it called? I wanted to be other things in between but I preferred the doctor option and I stuck with that.

      I certainly don’t mix up mistakes with regrets. There have been mistakes but I don’t regret any…I wouldn’t be who I am today without them 🙂

      No, I haven’t been watching the stars lately. Is there something new and interesting up there that I should be looking out for?

      Like

Leave a Reply

