Sleep Deprived

Late nights. Early mornings. Little sleep. Dark circles…

It’s been over two months since I’ve had a proper night’s sleep that has left me feeling alive and ready to face a new day in the morning. I don’t even remember what it feels like to wake up so refreshed. Instead, I just want to roll over in my bed when my two alarms go off (because one would just not be sufficient to arouse me from my tired state…sometimes I question if even two is enough) and go right back to sleep until maybe…8 (as opposed to 5:30).

Boy, I do love the days that I turn off all my alarms and just sleep as long as I need to. Ah, yes. I love my sleep.

For many people 6-7 hours is quite enough sleep. I get that much sleep at night (less if I’m on call) but it’ll never be sufficient. I usually feel refreshed after 9-10 hours of sleep. I’ve always kind of been like that so the 3-4 hour difference does do a lot. Gosh, medical school, you do me bad…real bad…

Leave a Reply

