Reminiscing New Life

“I changed a diaper today and fed a newborn. I love paediatrics.” ~ Facebook status. Not mine.

I’m not a big fan of paediatrics. In fact, once upon a time, I wanted to do paediatrics. 40 hours of volunteering on the paediatric ward prior to applying to medical school and I knew it was not something I wanted to do…anymore. After spending a 4 week rotation on paediatrics…it’s not…awful.

Regardless, that Facebook status made me recall my time on Obstetrics & Gynaecology delivering babies. On our paediatrics rotation, we spend some time on the neonate ward…examining babies and getting little activities signed off our little procedure cards, like changing a diaper and feeding. The thought of examining babies brought back memories of examining babies just as they had popped out of their mommas.

And then, it hit me.

I brought lives into the world. Me!

Birth isn’t pretty. This one actually looks pretty good though.

I know I’m about 2 months late on this realisation, but I’ve reached it nonetheless. I was just suddenly overwhelmed by the emotion of having aided a new life in its entry into the modern world of light, colour, temperature, sounds and food. This did register with me before, but I never really sat down to think about it. At the time, I was merely concerned with getting all my signatures for all my deliveries. I didn’t stop to smell the roses, so to speak.

Now that I’ve found the time to reminisce on those experiences, I’m in as much awe in myself as everyone else.

*Pats self on back*

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing New Life

  1. Mario says:

    Lol awwww…the thought of pursuing a career in paeds alone is quite repulsive. Even though i do not generally have a problem with children, i have very little patience with them and i dislike bad behaved ones. What is worse is when parents allow them to do as they please. But anywayz, i don’t like seeing children who may die or who are very sick…yes i know i will but i’ll aviid it as much as i can thanks…

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Once you do Paeds in Barbados, you’re granted to come to hate it. If you do Paeds in another country, you might actually find it tolerable…and it’s not the patients that are the problem…just so you know. Something for you to look forward to in a year 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

